Zeigler Defense Systems
In order to apply for the license you must 21 years of age, a legal resident of the United States, and a resident of Hamilton County or an adjoining county. Adjoining counties to Hamilton are Butler, Clermont, and Warren.
A resident of another state may obtain a CCW license in Ohio using the application process, however applicant must provide adequate proof of employment in Ohio (within our county or an adjoining county). Proof of employment can be a: pay stub with address of Employer; a letter (on letterhead, dated and signed) from employer stating the applicant is employed at the business; or an employee ID card from a local business.
Not all people are eligible to obtain a Concealed Carry License, most commonly because of a prior criminal record. If you have ever been convicted of a disqualifying crime (Juvenile or Adult), you will want to take care of those charges first. If you fail to take care of these charges and you proceed with the application appointment the license fee is non-refundable. You should read the Attorney General’s informational booklet, “Ohio Concealed Carry License”, for details on what type of convictions make you ineligible to receive a Concealed Carry License. This booklet is available on the Ohio Attorney General’s website or at the Sheriff’s Office. If you are still unsure, you may want to consult with an attorney. Zeigler Defense Systems CANNOT PROVIDE LEGAL ADVICE OR INDIVIDUAL CASE ASSESSMENTS.
Complete, but do not sign your application form. You only have to list the addresses in which you have resided since your last applied appointment. Also, you do not need a 2×2 facial photo for a renewal application.
If you have been a resident of Ohio for FIVE YEARS OR MORE, a NON-REFUNDABLE payment of $50.00 in the form of cash, and cashier/certified check payable to the HCSO LICENSE FUND, unless waived due to retired or active duty law enforcement or retired military status as described above.
If you have been a resident of Ohio for LESS THAN FIVE YEARS, a NON-REFUNDABLE payment of $70.00 in the form of cash, and cashier/certified check payable to the HCSO LICENSE FUND, unless waived due to retired or active duty law enforcement or retired military status as described above.
A local, and fingerprint background check will be done again. It could take roughly 3 weeks to complete. You will be notified when to pick up your new license, which at that time we will take the old license and give you the new license. If your application is denied, you will be advised by letter of the reason, and the appeal process.
CHANGE OF ADDRESS
Ohio law requires you to notify the county Sheriff’s Office at which you obtained you concealed carry license within 45 days after a change of address. You may download and fill out the Concealed Carry License Address Change form. Then mail it to the following address:
Hamilton County Sheriff’s Office
Attn: Concealed Carry License
1000 Sycamore Street; Room 100
Cincinnati, Ohio 45202
This process, required by law, modifies the record held by our agency in the event you need to be contacted regarding suspension, revocation, or administrative purpose.
If you wish to obtain a replacement concealed handgun license displaying your new address you can go to the website to make an appointment , or by calling (513) 946-6213 if you do not have access to the internet. You can make an appointment at our downtown office, 1000 Sycamore Street Room 100, Cincinnati, Ohio 45202, or at our Patrol Headquarter Office, 11021 Hamilton Avenue, Cincinnati, Ohio 45231. The cost for a replacement license is $5.00 cash only.
LOST OR STOLEN CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE
You must file a police report with your local police department, then obtain a copy of the report. Once you have a copy of the report, you can go to the website to make an appointment (click here), or by calling (513) 946-6213 if you do not have access to the internet. The appointment can be made at our downtown office 1000 Sycamore Street Room 100, Cincinnati, Ohio 45202, inside the HCJC, or 11021 Hamilton Avenue, Cincinnati, Ohio 45231 at Patrol Headquarters. The cost for a lost or stolen license $15.00. All you need for the appointment is the copy of the report and $15.00 in cash.